Get to Know Me

Hello! I realised I haven’t officially introduced myself. So I thought I would make a little post telling you more about who I am!

IMG_4536

Let’s start with the basics…
What’s your name and where do you come from?
My name is Kerri-Ann Hulme and I’m from a small town in the North-West of England called Widnes. Four years ago I leapt into the unknown, leaving my family and friends for a new life and career in Northamptonshire.

What do you do?
By day I work as a designer in children’s book publishing, which is amazing and super fun. In my spare time I concentrate on my love and passion of creating and drawing, as it’s my dream to run my own successful business. I’m looking to fill a niche with my own unique style and ideas.

What inspires your work?
I have always loved Beatrix Potter, her ability to draw animals and nature is simply amazing. Not everyone realises, but she didn’t just create her animal characters, she also drew beautiful landscapes and still life. Other illustrators that inspire me are Inga Moore and Jill Barklem. Their work is all about tiny details, I could look at their illustrations for hours and always find something I’ve missed.

I take inspiration from everywhere and some businesses that I look up to and aspire to be like are Belle & Boo and Peony & Sage, their products and success is really motivating and inspiring.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
2022 sounds so far into the future, not just 5 years! I really want to be earning a decent wage from my small business, potentially having decreased my day job hours to make more time for creating and selling. I also want to have a mortgage and be living in my own home, not rented! I really want to give YouTube a go, so maybe a successful channel in 5 years? Is that too ambitious?

Quick fire favourites:

Book – Harry Potter
Movie – You’ve Got Mail
Food – Italian
Colour – Green
Drink – Pepsi Max or Elderflower Cordial
Holiday – New York
TV Show – Gilmore Girls

I’d love to get to know you, too! Why not introduce yourself in the comments?

Leave a Reply

